top of page

LCCF Awards $63,000 in Scholarships

The Laurens County Community Foundation announced that more than $63,000 has been awarded in higher education academic scholarship funds to local Laurens County students for the 2018-2019 academic year.

“We are committed to providing young adults in our community every opportunity to learn and grow through the gift of educational scholarships,” said Executive Director Robin Day. “Our scholarship funds have been created by generous, community-minded individuals and organizations that recognize the importance of investing in our community’s youth. We thank them for the opportunity to assist them in giving a gift of education to so many Laurens County young adults.”

Clinton Kiwanis Club Scholarship was established by the members of the Clinton Kiwanis Club to be awarded to a graduating senior at Clinton High School. This scholarship is both need-based and academic based, and was awarded to Sara Olivia Stephens based on teacher recommendations and to recognize her outstanding dedication of service.

Cummins/Wham Scholarship, in honor of the scholarship’s namesakes, Charles L. Cummins, Jr. and Mae B. Wham, is given annually to Laurens County public high school graduates who demonstrate financial need, exhibit leadership qualities by their participation in extracurricular school and community activities and comply with other requirements stated in the scholarship application. The Cummins/Wham Scholarship is chaired by Lumus Bryd, Jr., a Board Member of the Laurens County Community Foundation, who works with the administrators and guidance counselors at Clinton High School and Laurens District 55 High School to reach those students who are eligible. Since the inception of the Cummins/Wham Scholarship fund, many students have had the opportunity to attend college who may not have been able to do so. The 2018 Cummins/Wham Scholarship was awarded to the following Laurens County students:

Laurens District 55 High School: Aulexcie Emya Chaney, Gaspar Andres Tomas, Brandon Michael Grogan, Dasion Cornelius Mosley, Taylor Nicole Baker, Candace Paige Griffin, Zy’Kevious Da-mon Jones, Kazya Anievi Irby. Clinton High School: Myasia Tiara Byrd, Coleton Frank Gresham, Ny’Kera Chardae Hall, Ji’Shon Rashad Payne, Jakob Harrison Pountain, Niholas Austin Seymore, Bryant Montana Simpson, Tianna Nikole Williams.

Kevin’s Dream Scholarship was established in the memory of Kevin Donald Adams by his family and friends. Having suffered from Type 1 Diabetes, Kevin died on March 5, 1999 from injuries sustained in an automobile accident that is believed to have been caused from the effects of the disease. Kevin was a junior at Clinton High School at the time of his death. The Kevin’s Dream Scholarship is awarded to graduation seniors who exemplify the qualities of responsibility, discipline, character and service to assist them in reaching their future goals of a higher education. This year’s recipients were Delores Moncerat Arias and Olivia Jordon Williamson, both from Clinton High School.

Thom Copeland Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of Thomas Lawrence Copeland and was awarded to Justin Patrick Easter from Clinton High School. The family of Thom Copeland created a scholarship fund, in memory of Thom, to assist Clinton High School graduates in their pursuit of a higher education and create a special fund devoted to granting scholarships to individuals who represent the qualities and characteristics of Thom Copeland: responsibility, discipline, character, leadership skills and service.

Laurens County Future Scholarship was awarded to 41 Laurens County students who attended Piedmont Technical College and University of South Carolina Union, Laurens Campus for the spring semester of 2018. Additional scholarship awards will be given in the fall 2018 semester. The Laurens County Future Scholarship provides recent high school graduates who are Laurens County residents with a tuition-free path to complete two years of technical training or the first half of a bachelor's degree.

Scholarships can be established by individual donors or organizations, and are often in honor or memory of a loved one. Donations can also be made to any of the already established scholarships or to the Laurens County Educational Enrichment Fund.

The Laurens County Community Foundation’s funds serve and benefit the residents of Laurens County. For more information:

or 864-681-5223.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page